Home / Media Release / MMG Rosebery receives Australia Day honours

MMG Rosebery receives Australia Day honours

In an Australia Day Ceremony at Strahan, Darryl Gerrity, the Mayor of the West Coast, announced that MMG had won the “2011 Community Event of the Year” for its 75th Anniversary celebration.

The award was presented jointly to Linda Williams and Christine Winskill – the primary organizers of the event  – on behalf of MMG.

The Rosebery ore body was discovered in November 1893 by Tom McDonald. While various attempts were made to bring the mine in to a commercial operation thereafter it was not until February 1936 that full production commenced with the start up of the concentrator and transport of metal concentrates to the Port of Burnie via the Emu Bay Railway.

The mine and mill have been continuously been in operation since that time and on 18 February 2011 the Rosebery community shared in the 75th Anniversary celebrations organized by the current owner MMG.

Activities associated with the anniversary included an official reception attended by Federal and State politicians, senior management of MMG, local business leaders and identities and other industry representatives.

The mine site also conducted an open day for the public on Saturday 19th February in conjunction with the Annual Rosebery Festival.

This was an important occasion for the community, the region and the mine staff. In addition, prior employees and tourists alike were cordially invited to attend and support the festivities.

John Lamb, General Manager, in an address to the official reception, outlined his view of the bright future for Rosebery and used the new livery on a TasRail locomotive that has been traversing Tasmania since Australia Day as an example of the importance of the community and all stakeholders.

The livery simply says – “MMG Rosebery Mine – 75 Years New.

Rosebery 75th

Mr Lamb noted “I cannot promise 75 more years but I can be confident a lot more years to come of the continuing theme,” One Team, One Rosebery, One Community. 

Australia Day Award

Back Row: Darryl Gerrity (WCC Mayor); Albert Eastaughffe; Tony Apted; Miles Naude
Seated: Linda Williams, Christine Winskill

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *